Windy City Media Group Frontpage News
Celebrating 30 Years of Gay Lesbian Bisexual and Trans News
home search facebook twitter join
Gay News Sponsor Windy City Times 2018-10-17
DOWNLOAD ISSUE
About WCMG Publications News Index  Entertainment Features Bars & Clubs Calendar Videos Advertisers OUT! Guide    Marriage

Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor

  WINDY CITY TIMES

FALL THEATER PREVIEW From Schaumburg to New York, Alexandra Billings puts on a show
by Catey Sullivan
2018-09-19

facebook twitter pin it google +1 reddit email


Roughly 30 years ago, trans* actor/recording artist/pageant queen/activist Alexandra Billings was sentenced to death. The diagnosis: She was HIV-positive. She remembered the doctor's advice with the crystalline clarity: "He said 'I think what you should do is take your credit card and max it out. You won't be around to pay them off,' " Billings said.

Her partner ( now wife ) Chrisanne Blankenship wasn't having it. Years later, Billings recalled to Windy City Times Blankenship's response with a tone that could wither a rainforest. "So Chrisanne looks at him and says, 'Oh, she'll be around."

They then lived happily ever after.

Actually, there's a bit more to it than that.

From Schaumburg, with love

Billings, 56, is far more than merely "still around." With Blankenship by her side ( 42 years together, 22 of them married ), she's making history on television ( Transparent, Goliath, How to Get Away with Murder, Grey's Anatomy ), film ( Romy and Michelle: In the Beginning, Stealth, Pretty/Handsome ) and on stage—all the while roaring as an activist, for LGBTQIA rights in particular and for humanity in general.

This month, the Schaumburg native who cut her teeth performing in Chicago everywhere from the Baton to the Steppenwolf makes her Broadway debut. As Waxy Bush, she's a gangster with an agenda in The Nap, a comedy about the very British game of snooker. Richard Bean's ( One Man, Two Guv'nors ) madcap farce opens Sept. 27 at the Manhattan Theatre Club, directed by Tony-winner Daniel Sullivan.

"Alexandra is a force of nature," said Sullivan, before quickly qualifying, "I'm sure I'm not telling Chicago anything it doesn't already know. We're very lucky she came on board."

A tribe without a name

Billings career is not a matter of luck. Her HIV diagnosis was followed by years of homelessness, addiction ( heroin, opiates, alcohol, cocaine ) and sex work. She began transitioning in the 1970s, decades before the world even had words for trans people. In the most fundamental terms—language that included a noun to claim as her own—Billings didn't exist back then. Except that she did. She knew it and Blankenship knew it. Chicago eventually caught on. It took the rest of the world a minute to catch up.

Today, Billings and her "tribe" are not only named, their names are in spotlights. There are at least five trans actors on Broadway. Miss Peppermint ( runner-up, Ru Paul's Drag Race Season 9 ) has the lead in the new musical Head Over Heels. Non-binary actor Kate Bornstein and trans actor Ty DeFoe are in the ensemble of Young Jean Lee's drama Straight White Men. Trans actor Bianca Lee is understudying both Billings and cis-actor Johanna Day in The Nap.

"We're in all the genres. I don't think that's happened before," Billings said.

Hello, my name is Waxy Bush

Waxy Bush is also new. While The Nap played to acclaim in London, Billings is creating the role for the comedy's Broadway premiere. "What's great about Waxy Bush—I mean, besides her name obviously—is she's a trans character but being trans has nothing to do with the story. Waxy Bush just is who she is. She has all the power. She calls all the shots."

Billings knows full well what it means to not have "all the power." In the early '80s, she was arrested in Chicago for wearing "women's clothes" in public. She didn't understand why the cop was cuffing her. "He told me the law was if you were a man, you had to wear at least two articles of men's clothing if you were in public," Billings said. As she succinctly puts it: "Back then, the very act of just leaving my house was revolutionary."

Miss Chicago Goes to Hollywood

Chicagoans who remember the epic success that was Vampire Lesbians of Sodom or Billings' epic turn as Mama Rose in Gypsy know that merely leaving the house was Billings' thing. When she left, she made sure she eventually Arrived elsewhere, always with a Capital A, often with a Standing Ovation. Here is a Brief History of Leaving the House and Then Some:

At 14, Billings played Sebastian to Blankenship's Viola in Schaumburg High School's production of Twelfth Night. After graduating in 1980, Billings turned herself into Shante, a beauty queen who strutted her stuff through the gritty glamor of the pageant scene. She was won Miss Wisconsin, Miss New York, Miss Chicago, Miss Illinois and Miss Florida.

In her 20s and 30s, she scrubbed toilets in dinky dank theater dives with dubious adherence to city building codes. When she wasn't backstage, she was on stage, starring in shows that paid in "exposure" and a resume line. Eventually, she gained entry into Chicago Shakespeare ( Hamlet—The Musical! ) and Steppenwolf ( Time to Burn, Space, The Berlin Circle ). She cut records and gave countless cabaret performances, collecting Jeff and After Dark Awards in the process.

In 1996, she premiered a one-woman show about her life. "I'm not a woman," she told audiences in the ground-breaking Before I Disappear. "I'm a queen." Before I Disappear played to sold-out house here, in Los Angeles and Off-Broadway.

In 2005, Billings and Blankenship moved to Hollywood. Blankenship left her job at Macy's as Billings started racking up screen credits while teaching at Steppenwolf's west coast school and at the University of Southern California. In 2014, Billings booked Transparent, a then-unknown Amazon show. As Davina, she's back this year for a fifth season with Transparent. She made history last season, becoming the first trans actor to do a full frontal nude scene. Davina's backstory played out in Season 4: It included a snapshot of Billings in elementary school, and a flashback to Davina's career as a pageant winner and cabaret artist.

Of better angels and scrambled eggs

Self-doubt remains an issue, Billings said.

"Oh, please. I'm riddled with fear before making scrambled eggs. I'm, like, 'These eggs are going to be a disaster. I'm going to make this show a disaster. I'm a disaster," she said. "But here's what I do. Before I go on stage, I remember what I learned in Chicago. Be present. Be humble. Be truthful. Tell the story. In Chicago, I learned how to do the thing. How to be in the story. How to find the character. How to be in the thing."

As always, Blankenship plays a key role. "Very first day of Nap rehearsal, I was terrified. Filled with abject fear and a little on the weepy side," Billings said. "I'm a 56-year-old trans woman of color, living with HIV for decades. I shouldn't even be on this planet. Much less in a Broadway show.

"So Chrisanne says to me, 'That's great. Feel all the stuff. But when you get to that theater? You tell yourself: You. Are. Home.'

"I think I have a lot of angels around me," Billings said. "I know how this sounds, but I think a big reason I have survived is because Chrisanne has been with me for centuries."

A tribe with a name

Early on in The Nap rehearsals, Billings was walking through Manhattan's tourist-clogged Midtown. She noticed a woman had stopped dead in her tracks to stare at her.

"If there's one thing I've learned about New Yorkers it's that if you're going to stop dead in your tracks on a crowded sidewalk, somebody better be dead," Billings said. The woman had a small girl clutching her hand. They walked up to Billings. The woman spoke. The little girl stared. "The mom looked at me and said, 'My daughter is part of your tribe. She wants to meet you,' "Billings said. Billings knelt down and shook the little girl's hand. They posed for "about 500" selfies. They all hugged, and melted back into the bustle.

Billings said she doesn't have regrets. But there is this:

"I was transitioning in the 1970s. I wish I had had live flesh and blood humans that were trans. That I could see, walking around the planet. I look at trans kids coming up today, and I see how much has changed. It's still hard, but it's so different."

"I come from a tribe where 85 percent of us died in the 1980s and 1990s," she said. "I feel a responsibility to leave a mark of some kind in our history books. Something no governmental administration can ever erase."

The not-so-great pretender

Erasure has happened before and is happening now, she noted. Ronald Reagan refused to so much as utter the word "AIDS" during the whole of his presidency. The current White House is systemically scrubbing mentions of LGBTQIA people from governmental websites and rolling back rights that were codified decades ago.

"I think this guy in the White House pretending to be president is giving us all a great mirror; he's showing how important it is not to take anything for granted. He is everyone's responsibility," Billings said.

"I get pushback when I say that. I get it mostly from liberals who say well, 'I didn't vote for him. He's not my responsibility.' To which I say, he is all of our responsibility. He's president because first we made him famous. We made him a star. America made him. We allowed him to happen."

"We've got to keep speaking. Loudly. With clarity and kindness and compassion," Billings said. "We have to make sure we don't lose the stories of those who came before us."

"Also," she added, "I want people to see The Nap. It's glorious and silly and I am surrounded by the most some of the most incredible humans on the planet."

The Nap opens Sept. 27 the Samuel J. Friedman Theatre, 261 W. 47th St., New York City; call 212-239-6200 or go to ManhattanTheatreClub.com .


facebook twitter pin it google +1 reddit email





Windy City Media Group does not approve or necessarily agree with the views posted below.
Please do not post letters to the editor here. Please also be civil in your dialogue.
If you need to be mean, just know that the longer you stay on this page, the more you help us.


  ARTICLES YOU MIGHT LIKE

Gay News

Arts in the Dark Halloween Parade to light up State St. Oct. 20 2018-10-17 - Arts in the Dark, the magical nighttime Halloween procession, will march down State Street for the first time, Saturday, October 20 from 6 ...


Gay News

Too ghoul for school, theater for the Halloween weekend 2018-10-17 - The weeks surrounding Christmas, Hanukah, Kwanzaa, solstice and New Year's are often collectively dubbed the "holiday season" in our multicultural society, but you're ...


Gay News

NATIONAL Dreiband criticized, third gender category in NYC, Spirit Day 2018-10-16 - Sharon McGowan—the Lambda Legal chief strategy officer and legal director, and former senior career Civil Rights Division official—spoke out against the U.S. Senate ...


Gay News

Transmilitsry documentary premieres Thursday Nov. 15 on Logo 2018-10-15 - New York, NY, October XX, 2018 — Logo today announced that the groundbreaking documentary, "TransMilitary," will make its television debut on Thursday, November ...


Gay News

Illeana Douglas 2018-10-14 - Illeana Douglas is a renaissance woman. Her distinguished career includes theater, standup comedy, movies, including several Martin Scorsese films, TV, writing, music ...


Gay News

Twelve Chicago-based LGBTQ+ performing arts organizations to perform together 2018-10-13 - CHICAGO, October 11, 2018 — Chicago Gay Men's Chorus celebrates 35 years of making music with their upcoming holiday show 35th Anniversary Holiday ...


Gay News

New World Play Festival through Oct 27 2018-10-11 - CHICAGO - Following the success of their 12th season of productions, culminating with the critically acclaimed Not One Batu, Nothing Without a Company ...


Gay News

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time 2018-10-10 - By Simon Stephens At Steppenwolf Theatre Company, 1650 N. Halsted St. Tickets: 312-335-1650 or Steppenwolf.org; $20-$30 Runs through: Oct. 27 ...


Gay News

The Madness of Edgar Allan Poe, A Love Story 2018-10-10 - By David Rice At: First Folio Theatre, Mayslake Hall, Mayslake Peabody Estate, 1717 W. 31st St., Oak Brook. Tickets: firstfolio.org; $34 - $44. ...


Gay News

Oxy, Ohio 2018-10-10 - Playwright S J. Spencer At The Side Project Theatre Company at McKaw Theater, 1439 W. Jarvis Ave. Tickets: TheSideProject.net; $15-$20. Runs through: Oct. ...


 



Copyright © 2018 Windy City Media Group. All rights reserved.
Reprint by permission only. PDFs for back issues are downloadable from
our online archives. Single copies of back issues in print form are
available for $4 per issue, older than one month for $6 if available,
by check to the mailing address listed below.

Return postage must accompany all manuscripts, drawings, and
photographs submitted if they are to be returned, and no
responsibility may be assumed for unsolicited materials.
All rights to letters, art and photos sent to Nightspots
(Chicago GLBT Nightlife News) and Windy City Times (a Chicago
Gay and Lesbian News and Feature Publication) will be treated
as unconditionally assigned for publication purposes and as such,
subject to editing and comment. The opinions expressed by the
columnists, cartoonists, letter writers, and commentators are
their own and do not necessarily reflect the position of Nightspots
(Chicago GLBT Nightlife News) and Windy City Times (a Chicago Gay,
Lesbian, Bisexual and Transegender News and Feature Publication).

The appearance of a name, image or photo of a person or group in
Nightspots (Chicago GLBT Nightlife News) and Windy City Times
(a Chicago Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender News and Feature
Publication) does not indicate the sexual orientation of such
individuals or groups. While we encourage readers to support the
advertisers who make this newspaper possible, Nightspots (Chicago
GLBT Nightlife News) and Windy City Times (a Chicago Gay, Lesbian
News and Feature Publication) cannot accept responsibility for
any advertising claims or promotions.

 

 

 

TRENDINGBREAKINGPHOTOS

Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor


 



Sponsor

About WCMG Publications News Index  Entertainment Features Bars & Clubs Calendar Videos Advertisers OUT! Guide    Marriage


About WCMG      Contact Us      Online Front  Page      Windy City  Times      Nightspots      OUT! Guide     
Identity      BLACKlines      En La Vida      Archives      Subscriptions      Distribution      Windy City Queercast     
Queercast Archives      Advertising  Rates      Deadlines      Advanced Search     
Press  Releases      Event Photos      Join WCMG  Email List      Email Blast     
Upcoming Events      Todays Events      Ongoing Events      Post an Event      Bar Guide      Community Groups      In Memoriam      Outguide Categories      Outguide Advertisers      Search Outguide      Travel      Dining Out      Blogs      Spotlight  Video     
Classifieds      Real Estate      Place a  Classified     

Windy City Media Group produces Windy City Queercast, & publishes Windy City Times,
The Weekly Voice of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Trans Community,
Nightspots, Out! Resource Guide, and Identity.
5315 N. Clark St. #192, Chicago, IL 60640-2113 • PH (773) 871-7610 • FAX (773) 871-7609.